Tags

, , , , , , ,

EDIT: I’ve since tried making my own recipe which is a little more inspired by how an actual Strawberry Daiquiri cocktail is made and tastes. Read it here.

The first of the Half Cut Cakes was from The Hummingbird Bakery’s Cake Days book given to me by my good friend Anni.  Sadly because this was a receipe I made before the project existed I forgot to take photos (edit: found a picture on my phone).

Hummingbird Bakery Strawberry Daiquiri Mini-Cupcakes

Ingredients 
100ml white rum
170g caster sugar
150g strawberries
40g unsalted butter
120g plain flour
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1 large egg
120ml whole milk
1/2 tsp vanilla essence

This recipe involves making a sort of white rum (I used Bacardi as we had some in the house) syrup and then soaking chunks of strawberries in it.  These then sit in the base of cupcake case and the cake batter is piled on top.  They’re glazed with the rum reduction and then iced with a buttercream which uses butter, icing sugar, milk and some lime zest.

These cakes were moister than the ones I usually make, probably because they involved a lot more liquid than I’m used to.  Although the flavour was nice I’d say they were more inspired by a Strawberry Daiquiri than tasted like one as boiling the rum and sugar seemed to lose a lot of the flavour and the strawberries weren’t muddled into the rest of the ingredients like they would’ve been in the drink.

Whilst they tasted nice and everyone liked the little strawberry surprise in the bottom of the cupcake, I couldn’t help but be a little disappointed by them.  Plus left to the next day they seemed to get soggy, which I wasn’t overly keen about.

I’m wondering whether it’s possible to get the rum and strawberries into the cake itself with a little lime juice/zest to give it a bit more of an authentic Strawberry Daiquiri flavour.

