Tags

, , ,

I stumbled across a recipe for rum cake on the Baking Bar website for Sailor Jerry Rum Cake.  Now Sailor Jerry is fine and all, but if you’ve got access to bartenders who work in a bar with over 50 rums it seems only right to call one of them and see if they’d recommend something else to put in cake.  Which is how I ended up with Mount Gay rum.

Mount Gay Rum Cake

Ingredients
175g Caster sugar
185g Self raising flour
175g Butter
3 Eggs
1tsp Rum extract (optional)
1/2tsp Vanilla extract
2tbsp Rum (I used Mount Gay rum)
Rum Glaze
244g Caster sugar
150ml Water
1tsp Butter
1tsp Vanilla extract
3tbsp Rum

The first time I made this cake I omitted the rum extract because I had no idea where to get it.  Turns out you can get little bottles of the stuff in the baking isle of most supermarkets.  Who knew?

The recipe itself was pretty simple – cream in the butter and sugar, add the eggs one by one, stir in the vanilla extract, rum and rum extract and then fold in the flour.  Bake for 35-55 mins on 180c.  The glaze is made by heating the water and sugar until the sugar has melted, then adding the rest of the ingredients and boiling for another 10mins, keeping a close eye on it.  After being left to cool for 20mins, spoon it over the cake.  Ice with your choice, chocolate works well.

Rum Cake with glaze

So the first cake was really really nice, only the rum flavour was barely recognisable (and I’m sure the only people who said they could taste it was because I’d told them what it was supposed to be).  But as a basic cake recipe it’s really good and something I intend to use for the base of more cakes.  The syrup was delicious but made enough for two cakes; I left the half of it overnight and it did seem to separate out a bit, but with some digging I managed to reheat it.  I iced it with some shop-bought chocolate icing, although I was going to make a ganache but I never got round to it.

I made the cake again the next day and added in the rum extract and it made a huge difference to the flavour – much better.  Although this disappointed me a little as I’d have liked to get the rum flavour with something a little more natural.  Something to work on methinks!

