Tags

, , , ,

I’m lucky enough to work for a group of bars that have regular training and will let me sit in on it.  So nearly a week after I’d sat in on some whiskey training, my mum turned up with a bottle of Chivas Regal 12 year old Scotch Whisky and I figured that really it only made sense to try some whisky cake.

I had a quick look round the interwebs and couldn’t find a recipe that wasn’t a fruit-filled Christmas-style cake.  So I figured I’d use the base of the rum cake recipe and have a bit of a play around to come up with my own recipe.

Chivas Regal Whisky Cake

Ingredients
175g Caster sugar
175g Butter
3 Eggs
1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract
75ml Whisky (I used the Chivas Regal 12 year old Scotch whisky)
1/4 teaspoon of cinnamon
30ml freshly brewed coffee (I used Ethiopian Mocha coffee)
185g Self raising flour
Icing
75g Butter
175g Icing sugar
25ml Whisky
1/4 teaspoon of orange liqueur

Method
Pre-heat the oven to 180c
Cream in the butter and sugar
Add the eggs one by one, making sure they’re combined
Add the cinnamon, whisky, vanilla extract and coffee
Sieve in the flour and fold in
Bake for about 45mins-1hr, then leave to cool.
The icing is a basic buttercream; cream in all the ingredients and ice the cake once it has cooled fully.

I really liked this cake – and so did the guys at work (one of them even professed it good enough to sell).  The coffee and cinnamon really complimented the whisky and helped bring out the flavour.  The icing was a little wetter than I intended, but the whisky and orange flavour (inspired by an Old Fashioned cocktail) really worked.

The sprinkles are actually little gingerbread men and whilst I was more than happy with this cake I might be tempted to add 1/4tsp of ground ginger to the cake in future.

