Tags

, , ,

After making the Hummingbird Bakery mini-strawberry Daiquiri cakes and not being overly impressed with them I wanted to have a go at making my own recipe.

I don’t mean to mock the Hummingbird recipe as people certainly enjoyed them, but I couldn’t help but be a little disappointed by the idea of just having the strawberry pieces nestled in the bottom of the cake rather than being part of it.  A Strawberry Daiquiri cocktail involves muddling the strawberries into the drink along with the rum and lime so I wanted to put the strawberries in the cake.  And although the cocktail uses white rum, popular advice was that to get the flavour in the cake it might be worth using a darker, navy rum in the cake itself.

Strawberries infusing in white rum

I tried using fruit as a fat replacement previously and wasn’t convinced, but I did think infusing the fruit with rum might be a good way to get the flavours combined.  What is worth noting is that white rum (I used Bacardi) infused with strawberry is delicious!  Next time I’d use less of the strawberry and more navy to get more of the rum flavour across, but either way these cakes were pretty good!

Strawberry Daiquiri cupcakes

150g Caster sugar
20g Molasses sugar
170g Butter
3 Eggs
1 lime – zest and juice
100g Strawberries which has been soaked in white rum at least for 24 hours
50ml Navy rum
50ml Strawberry rum (from soaking the strawberries)
220g Self raising flour
1tsp Baking powder

Combine the two types of sugar and then cream in with the butter.  Add the eggs one by one, combining fully.  Zest the lime and then squeeze in the juice, giving it a good stir.  Drain the strawberries, keeping the liquid, and blitz in a blender until they’re a puree.  Stir into the mixture and add the rum.  Sieve in the flour and baking powder and transfer the mixture into cupcake cases about two thirds full.  Bake for the usual amount of time, using the toothpick test (it really is good) and then leave to cool.  Make up a buttercream icing using lime juice and the strawberry rum for extra flavour.

I upped the butter and sugar in this batch as the previous attempt had a texture which was a tad rubbery.  The flavours were certainly more balanced, but I would’ve liked more of the rum taste; I think adding more navy rum and less strawberry rum might be the way forward.  Oddly too, these cakes really seemed to improve after they were left for a few days…I know, I was surprised they lasted that long too!

