Tags

, , , ,

My housemate B has a nostalgic attachment the coconutty sweetness of Malibu & Coke, which reminds her of nights out in our college bar at university.  Although she doesn’t really drink it much anymore, we have some in the house and when I was looking at what to back next I spotted a bottle.

Malibu is a coconut flavoured white rum made in Barbados.  It’s not the only coconut rum on the market, Wray & Nephew do Koko Kanu, a Jamaican rum which is a bit stronger alcohol wise, and there are most likely others too.

I had some cola syrup from when I made the Hummingbird Bakery cola cupcakes, so I figured I’d have a bash at using this in order to keep the liquid content down.  It’s the kind of stuff used in those soda makers and I picked some up in Lakeland.  If you can’t or don’t want to get hold of some try some regular cola and try boiling it down so it’s more concentrated.

Because the cola syrup and the Malibu is quite sugary I reduced down the amount of sugar in the actual cake, which didn’t affect the texture but did make sure that the cake wasn’t too sickly.  The cake was a little dense, so next time I’ll make sure to add some baking soda.  My housemates B and S thought the cakes tasted exactly like the drink, so I’m considering the recipe a success!

 Malibu & Coke cupcakes

100g Caster sugar
150g Butter
3 Eggs
75ml Cola syrup
75ml Malibu / coconut rum
150g Self raising flour
175g Icing sugar
75g Butter
Malibu and cola syrup to taste

Cream in the butter and sugar, then add the eggs one-by-one making sure they’re fully combined before adding the next.  Mix in the cola syrup and Malibu and sift in the flour.  Put the mixture into cupcake cases, filling to about two thirds, and bake for about 20mins until they pass the toothpick test (pierce one of the cakes with a toothpick, if it comes out clean they’re done).  Leave to cool and then make up the icing; cream in the butter and sugar.  Add the malice and cola small amounts at a time until you get the flavour you want.

