Tags

, , , ,

I was asked to proofread something on tequila one of the bartenders from the RVT had written.  In it she mentioned flavours that went well with tequila and one of them was apple, so I figured I’d have a go at making some apple tartlets.

For the very basics of the recipe I used Greg Wallace’s peach and almond tart on the BBC Good Food website as I wanted something simple that used a frangipane filling.  Usually I add the alcohol in before baking, but I figured this time I’d make a tequila glaze, which was inspired a little by a dessert my housemate had which used tequila over sorbet.

Apple tartlets with tequila glaze

Pastry
88g plain flour
43g  unsalted butter
1/2tbsp caster sugar
1 egg yolk
Filling
50g caster sugar
70g butter
1 egg
70g ground almonds
25g plain flour
apples sliced
Glaze
water
caster sugar
golden tequila

Start with making the pastry; rub in the flour and butter until it looks like breadcrumbs, then mix in the sugar and using the egg yolk and a little water bring it together to make a dough.  Wrap it in cling-film and refrigerate for an hour or so.

Heat the oven to 180c fan, roll out the pastry and cut into four pieces and place inside each of the tarlet tins.  push into the edges and trim of the excess.  Add in baking beans (or dried chickpeas wrapping in greaseproof paper) and bind bake for 10 mins.  Remove the beans, prick the base and bake for another 10 mins.

For the filling; whisk the butter and sugar until you get a paste and beat in the egg, then add the alongs and flour.  Spoon into the pastry cases and arrange the apple slices however you see fit.  Bake for 30-40mins until golden.

For the glaze: using two parts sugar to one part water heat to make a syrup.  Once you’ve go a fairly thick syrup add in a slug of golden tequila and warm through.  Pour the glaze over the tartlets, but try and trying to avoid getting the base of the tartlet soggy.  I did this by using shot glasses – perhaps if I were to serve them as a dinner party I’d fill the shot glass with tequila too!

Sadly I  didn’t get to take these into work, so opinions were all from the house.  The apples really reduced in the baking process so I’d pack them in more than I did and this would have the added benefit of giving it a more apply taste – possibly using cooking apples too.  The pastry didn’t need the 20mins in total, so I’d keep more of an eye on them but it had been so long since I made pastry that I was wary.  The tequila glaze wasn’t too overpowering and was delicious…I wanted to put it over some ice cream after the tartlets were eaten!

